Through investigation of the particular to knowledge of the universal, through acquaintance with the past to understanding of the present time, through reason to faith. (Abraham Geiger)

Abraham Geiger Award

The Abraham Geiger Award recognizes contributions to Judaism in its many facets. It was created in 2000 on the occasion of the opening of the Abraham Geiger College. With that award the Rabbinic Seminary honors people who rendered outstanding service to pluralism:

Openness, courage, tolerance, and freedom of Jewish thought as the result of the Enlightenment are honored by it as a basis for relations among Jews as well as our relations with our non-Jewish environment.

The Abraham Geiger Award is endowed with 10,000 EUR, which the recipient then allocates to a project that gives shape and form to the nature of the award.

The prize money is donated by Mr. Karl-Hermann Blickle.

Abraham Geiger Award Winners

Professor Susannah Heschel – 2000

As a significant representative of contemporary Jewish philosophy, for her studies on Abraham Geiger, which carry his ideals into the present.

Professor Emil Fackenheim – 2002

For his philosophical life’s work: after the Shoah he opened new vistas towards a possible Jewish religious faith.

Professor Alfred Grosser – 2004

With the voice of humanity, he constantly stood up for openness, courage, tolerance and freedom of thought as the result of the Enlightenment.

Karl Cardinal Lehmann – 2006

We honor his determination to enter into dialogue with Jewry. He is an advocate for tolerance and freedom of thought.

Prince El Hassan bin Talal of Jordan 2008

He is a remarkable voice for global sustainability, reconciliation and interreligious understanding.

Professor Hans Küng – 2009

As the President of the Global Ethic Foundation, he points the way for global coexistence beyond all religious boundaries and towards common moral values, ideals and goals.

Helen Zille, Premier of the Western Cape – 2011

She is a remarkable voice with great courage and determination in transforming South Africa into a democracy of many voices.

Copyright 2010 by Abraham Geiger Kolleg